skip navigation

Sporting KC Academy defender Mitchell Ferguson to join U.S. U-16 Boys' National Team

By Sam Kovzan,, 09/11/18, 10:00AM CDT


Sporting Kansas City Academy defender Mitchell Ferguson will join the United States U-16 Boys' National Team for a training camp that runs from Wednesday through Sept. 19 at IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida.

Ferguson, 15, has earned his second selection to the U.S. U-16 national team, having previously competed at his first such camp in June. U.S. U-16 head coach Shaun Tsakiris (pictured above) has called up 36 players, all born in 2003, for the week-long program.

A native of Glen Carbon, Illinois, Ferguson and his U-16 teammates are age-eligible for the 2019 FIFA U-17 World Cup in Peru. They will also form the core of an age group that attempts to qualify for the 2023 FIFA U-20 World Cup.

Ferguson joined the Sporting KC Academy at the start of 2018, arriving from the Saint Louis FC youth setup. The defender made eight appearances for the Sporting KC U-15s during the second half of the 2017-18 U.S. Soccer Development Academy season. He has since jumped to the U-17 level, playing all 90 minutes in each of the team's first two matches of the 2018-19 campaign.

U.S. U-16 Roster by Position:

GOALKEEPERS (4): Anjan Chakravarti (LA Breakers FC; West Hollywood, Calif.), Eliot Jones (New England Revolution; New Britain, Conn.), Gavin Krenecki (Sacramento Republic FC; Fair Oaks, Calif.), Andre Zuluaga (Kendall SC; Miami, Fla.)

DEFENDERS (13): Adrian Aguilar (LA Galaxy; Los Angeles, Calif.), Prince Amponsah (New York City FC; Bronx, N.Y.), Edwin Arias (Barca Academy; Phoenix, Ariz.), Justin Che (FC Dallas; Frisco, Texas), Mauricio Cuevas (LA Galaxy; Los Angeles, Calif.), Mitchell Ferguson (Sporting Kansas City; Glen Carbon, Ill.), Jonathan Gomez (FC Dallas; Keller, Texas), Dante Huckaby (Philadelphia Union; Wayne, Pa.), Alec Kenison (San Diego Surf; San Diego, Calif.), Eric Kinzner (Seattle Sounders FC; Tacoma, Wash.), Nico McMillan (Seattle Sounders FC; Seattle, Wash.), Casey Walls (San Jose Earthquakes; Mill Valley, Texas), Joseph Zalinsky (New York Red Bulls; Brick, N.J.)

MIDFIELDERS (9): Edison Azcona (Orlando City SC; Clermont, Fla.), Elton Chifamba (Crew SC Academy; Blacklick, Ohio), Caden Clark (Barca Academy; Medina, Minn.), Daniel Edelman (Players Development Academy; Warren, N.J.), Sota Kitahara (Seattle Sounders FC; Edmonds, Wash.), Daniel Leyva (Seattle Sounders FC; Burien, Wash.), Jack McGlynn (BW Gottschee Academy; Middle Village, N.Y.), Wilfredo Rivera (Orlando City SC; Fleming Island, Fla.), Tyler Taber (FC Metz; Bertrange, Luxembourg)

FORWARDS (10): Patrick Bohui (Philadelphia Union; West Chester, Pa.), Andres Cardenas (Weston FC; Doral, Fla.), Cade Cowell (San Jose Earthquakes; Ceres, Calif.), Selmir Miscic (Philadelphia Union; Royersford, Pa.), Alex Monis (Chicago Fire; Naperville, Ill.), Jonathan Perez (LA Galaxy; Pico Rivera, Calif.), Ricardo Pepi (FC Dallas; McKinney, Texas), Sam Sarver (Crew SC Academy; Beachwood, Ohio), Dante Sealy (FC Dallas; Frisco, Texas), Brandon Zelaya (De Anza Force; Redwood City, Calif.)