skip navigation

Academy midfielder Edgar Bazan named to U.S. U-17 Men’s National Team

By Sam Kovzan, 01/15/22, 10:30AM CST


Sporting Kansas City Academy midfielder Edgar Bazan was named to the United States U-17 Men’s National Team roster on Friday for a week-long training camp at IMG Academy in Bradenton, Fla., from Jan. 18-25.

After first joining the U.S. U-17's in November, Bazan returns to the squad as one of 26 players invited by head coach Gonzalo Segares for the first training camp of the new calendar year in the 2022-23 U-17 cycle, which culminates with the 2023 FIFA U-17 World Cup in Peru

Raised in Overland Park, Kansas, Bazan joined the Sporting KC Academy in August 2017. The following year, he helped the Sporting KC U-12s win two national championships as winners of the Generation adidas Cup in Frisco, Texas, and the Premier SuperCopa in Denver.

Bazan and the Sporting KC U-13s were runners up at the US Youth Futsal National Championships in January 2019, months before he scored twice for the U-13s at the Central Regional Showcase in Waukegan, Illinois.

Bazan represented the U-15s throughout the latter half of 2019 and into 2020 as Sporting joined the newly launched MLS NEXT youth platform. He spent most of the 2020-21 MLS NEXT campaign with the U-15s before rising to the U-17 level at the start of the 2021-22 season.


GOALKEEPERS (3): Fernando Delgado (Real Salt Lake; Glendale, Ariz.), Nicholas Holliday (North Carolina FC; Chapel Hill, N.C.), Diego Kochen (FC Barcelona/ESP; Miramar, Fla.)

DEFENDERS (8): Brian Alanis (Houston Dynamo FC; Houston, Texas), Jayson Castillo (Seattle Sounders FC; Prescott, Wash.), Riley Dalgado (LA Galaxy; Los Angeles, Calif.), Christian Diaz (LAFC; San Bernardino, Calif.), Tyler Hall (Inter Miami CF; Miramar, Fla.), Stuart Hawkins (Seattle Sounders FC; Fox Island, Wash.), Gershon Henry (Real Salt Lake; Portage, Mich.), Oscar Verhoeven (San Jose Earthquakes; Pleasant Hill, Calif.)

MIDFIELDERS (7): Edgar Bazan (Sporting Kansas City; Overland Park, Kan.), Brian Carmona Romero (Charlotte FC; Concord, N.C.), Cruz Medina (San Jose Earthquakes; San Francisco, Calif.), Edwyn Mendoza (San Jose Earthquakes; San Jose, Calif.), Luis Moreno (Houston Dynamo FC; Houston, Texas), Pedro Soma (UE Cornella/ESP; Coconut Creek, Fla.), Jude Wellings (Real Salt Lake; Birmingham, Mich.)

FORWARDS (8): Fidel Barajas (San Jose Earthquakes; Sacramento, Calif.), Micah Burton (Austin FC; Mounds View, Minn.), Bajung Darboe (Philadelphia Union; Sun Prairie, Wisc.), Andre Gitau (Houston Dynamo FC; Richmond, Texas), Christopher Olyney Jr. (Philadelphia Union; Hillsborough, N.J.), Ruben Ramos Jr. (LA Galaxy; La Puente, Calif.), Ezekiel Soto (Houston Dynamo FC; Menifee, Calif.), Luke Zielinski (Philadelphia Union; Weston, Conn.)