skip navigation

Academy midfielder Edgar Bazan to join U.S. U-17 Men’s National Team

By Sam Kovzan, 10/27/21, 3:30PM CDT


Sporting Kansas City Academy player Edgar Bazan was named to the United States U-17 Men’s National Team roster on Wednesday for a week-long training camp at Elite Athlete Training Center in Chula Vista, California, from Nov. 1-8.

Bazan, a 15-year-old midfielder, will join the youth national team setup for the first time as part of a 36-player squad assembled by new U.S. U-17 head coach Gonzalo Segares. The occasion will serve as the first training camp of the new U-17 cycle, which will culminate with the 2023 FIFA U-17 World Cup in Peru.

Raised in Overland Park, Kansas, Bazan joined the Sporting KC Academy in August 2017. The following year, he helped the Sporting KC U-12s win two national championships as winners of the Generation adidas Cup in Frisco, Texas, and the Premier SuperCopa in Denver.

Bazan and the Sporting KC U-13s were runners up at the US Youth Futsal National Championships in January 2019, months before he scored twice for the U-13s at the Central Regional Showcase in Waukegan, Illinois.

Bazan represented the U-15s throughout the latter half of 2019 and into 2020 as Sporting joined the newly launched MLS NEXT youth platform. He spent most of the 2020-21 MLS NEXT campaign with the U-15s before rising to the U-17 level at the start of the 2021-22 season this fall.

The November training camp marks the U-17 USMNT’s first traditional training camp since the team participated in a February 2020 UEFA Development Tournament in England, just before the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic brought the sporting world to a halt. The 2021 Concacaf U-17 Championship and 2021 FIFA U-17 World Cup were canceled due to the pandemic.


GOALKEEPERS (4): Ryan Carney (New England Revolution; Dunstable, Mass.), Fernando Delgado (Real Salt Lake; Glendale, Ariz.), Julian Eyestone (FC Dallas, Dallas, Texas), Nicholas Holliday (North Carolina FC; Chapel Hill, N.C.)

DEFENDERS (10): Brian Alanis (Houston Dynamo FC; Houston, Texas), John Andrus (Philadelphia Union; Fallston, Md.), Riley Delgado (LA Galaxy; Los Angeles, Calif.), Aaron Deppe (Chicago Fire FC; Coopersville, Mich.), Christian Diaz (Los Angeles Football Club; San Bernadino, Calif.), Tyler Hall (Inter Miami CF; Miramar, Fla.), Gershon Henry (Real Salt Lake; Portage, Mich.), Christian Metelitasa (De Anza Force SC; San Mateo, Calif.), Javen Romero (Los Angeles Football Club; Los Angeles, Calif.), Oscar Verhoeven (San Jose Earthquakes; Pleasant Hill, Calif.)

MIDFIELDERS (11): Edgar Bazan (Sporting Kansas City; Overland Park, Kan.), Adrian Gill (FC Barcelona/ESP; Denver, Colo.), Aaron Heard (St. Louis City FC; Fairfax, Va.), Cruz Medina (San Jose Earthquakes; San Francisco, Calif.), Edwyn Mendoza (San Jose Earthquakes; San Jose, Calif.), Luis Moreno (Houston Dynamo FC; Houston, Texas), Tamir Ratovitz (Los Angeles Football Club; Los Angeles, Calif.), Matthew Schenfeld (FC Cincinnati; Louisville, Ky.), David Vazquez (Total Futbol Academy; Los Angeles, Calif.), Jude Wellings (Real Salt Lake; Birmingham, Mich.), Milo Wray (Portland Timbers; Portland, Ore.)

FORWARDS (11): Moises Arciniega (Barca Residency Academy; Casa Grande, Ariz.), Fidel Barajas (San Jose Earthquakes; Sacramento, Calif.), Micah Burton (Austin FC; Mounds View, Minn.), Bajung Darboe (Philadelphia Union; Sun Prairie, Wisc.), Andre Gitau (Houston Dynamo FC; Richmond, Texas), Michael Luande (Seattle Sounders FC; Puyalluo, Wash.), Christopher Olney Jr. (Philadelphia Union; Hillsborough, N.J.), Diego Rocio (Philadelphia Union; Escondido, Calif.), Paolo Rudisill (LA Galaxy; Irvine, Calif.), Zion Vaughn (Real Salt Lake AZ; Chandler, Ariz.), Luke Zielinski (Philadelphia Union; Weston, Conn.)